Ashland Film Festival 2011- Light of Mine

This past Thursday I flew out to Ashland, Oregon to be apart the of the premiere of Light of Mine. I had the pleasure of working with Brett and Jill on Get into Wine and they allowed me to score a scene in their first feature film. Now…this was my first viewing of the entire film and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I knew they did great work, however I had no idea it would be as good as it was.

It’s about a photographer who’s going blind and his wife takes him on a road trip to Yellowstone before he loses his eyesight. I have to say… this movie was about so much more than the plot!

I got in about 12 pm after flying on a CRJ-700 which a full flight is only 66 people and it was pretty cold. Brett and Jill picked me up and as soon as we got on the road it started to rain a little. We got into Ashland and started walking around to find something to eat, it started to lightly snow and then it came down!

The weather was really strange, by the time we finished eating the sun was out and it had warmed up or maybe it was the hot coco mixed with peppermint schnapps? Hmmm…anyway, we had a little time to kill before the premiere so we walked around downtown. Our first stop was Lithia Park (if you can really call it that) where the Lithia Water fountains are located.

This water contains: sodium, calcium, iron, bicarbonate and other healthful minerals and as explained by wikipedia, “

Lithia water is mineral water containing lithium salts. Lithia water can occur naturally in spring form. One example can be found in Ashland, Oregon‘s Lithia Park. The water is pumped to a fountain where hundreds of people come to drink it for its supposed positive psychological effects.

Population studies found that communities with lithia waters have lower suicide rates, mental hospital admissions, incidences of crimes, and arrests related to drug addictions”

Wow… I didn’t really care for the taste though.

As our exploration continued we stopped in the Music Coop and a couple of others stores.

It was about 2:40 pm and time to head to Varsity for the showing at 3:10 pm.

 

I must say I had a great time visiting Ashland, I met a lot of great indie filmmakers as well as towns folk. I stayed at the Pelton House and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area… I will see you again Ashland!

 

 

About durojaiyeversatile

Tunesmith
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

